APPOINTMENT OF LA GOVERNORS

List for Consideration 18th March 2020

PRIMARY SCHOOL	NO. OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS NAME AND ADDRESS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS		
Please note: CCC's 'The Appointment of LA Governors' states that, 'All County Councillors [when elected] may stipulate on which school governing bodies they will sit and their decision will take preference over 'non-elected' LA governors'.						
Bancffosfelen	1	Mr A Barlow	Miss J M Langabeer, Headteacher	'Mr Barlow lives locally and plays an important part in the community of Bancffosfelen. He is a secondary school teacher and is willing to share his skills and expertise with Bancffosfelen School. He is committed to supporting the community to improve facilities, for example the local park etc, for the future of the school and the village.'		
Brynsaron	3	Cllr. Ken Howell Penlan Fawr Penboyr Felindre Llandysul SA44 5JF	n/a – elected member	Cllr. Ken Howell is seeking appointment as LA Governor at Brynsaron Primary School. Cllr. Howell is already a member of the Governing Body at Ysgol Bro Teifi.		
		Mr E Jones	Mrs N Stoakes, Chairperson	'Continue as LA Governor in Brynsaron School.' Mrs Stoakes is seeking Mr Jones' re-appointment.		
Dafen	1	Mrs L M Lloyd	Mrs I Greville, Headteacher	'Mrs Lloyd is a Youth Worker with Dafen Church. She is very active within the local community offering a variety of clubs and activities to the children and youth. She organises events for pupils from local schools to visit the Church to experience a variety of activities. She visits		

				Dafen School on a regular basis to deliver assemblies and workshops to all pupils. Mrs Lloyd has previously been a parent of the school and during this time she was very supportive and showed an interest in the progress and the development of the school. She currently volunteers her services to help the school's Parent and Teacher's Association. I feel that Mrs Lloyd's appointment to the Governing Body would be an asset to Dafen School due to her wealth of knowledge of the local community and her dedication and commitment in enriching the experiences of the pupils.'
Hafodwenog	1	Mrs L Evans	Mrs MG James, Chairperson	'Mrs Evans is the Policy and Partnerships Officer in the Chief Executive's Department of Carmarthenshire County Council and is already experienced and knowledgeable as a member of another school governing body. Now a mother of a child in the school, her knowledge of this rural community and the challenges of delivering a quality education within a small school is familiar to her. Through sharing her expertise and skills with the governing body, the school will definitely benefit and develop from having her as a member of the team which steers the school to the future.'
Llangadog	1	Mrs M Haines-Evans	Ms A Moore, Headteacher	'Mrs Haines-Evans has been a key member of our governing body for years. As an experienced governor she has a strong understanding of the expectations and the educational standards along with the wider requirements of the governing body. She's a member of the finance committee which is crucially important at a time where managing money and budgets is a priority for us as a school. She shows willingness and commitment to support the school as a representative of the governors and shows

				commitment as former chairperson and vice-chairperson.' Ms Moore is seeking Mrs Haines-Evans' reappointment.
Llannon	1	Mrs L Watkins	Miss JM Langabeer, HT and Mr J Ellis, Chairperson	'Mrs Watkins works for the LA as a teacher for Special Educational needs. It is a skill which is required on the governing body especially with the ALN transition.'
Gymraeg Rhydaman	1	Mrs H Garland	Mr A Thomas, Chairperson	'Mrs Garland is Assistant Head at Ysgol Dewi Sant and understands the challenges and responsibilities within education at the moment. She has whole school responsibilities, especially in the field of ALN, which is currently undergoing transformation. She is also playing a key part in the community and is a teacher in the local Sunday School. Mrs Garland is very willing to share her educational expertise with the school and has been supporting the school following the ESTYN report in 2017.'
Saron	1	Mr J Edwards	Mrs G Easton, Headteacher	'Commitment to education; a desire to help improve standards of education within the school; a knowledge of, and interest in, the community in which the school is situated; willingness to share individual skills and expertise within the context of the governing body; a commitment to update skills and knowledge on school governance.'
Y Bedol	1	Dr Rev C Jones	Cllr. Kevin Madge, County Councillor and member of this GB	'The Rev C Jones is the vicar in charge of Christ Church Garnant for over a year. Prior to this she was the Curate of St Mary Magdalene Church in St Clears; she also worked at University of Wales Trinity St David Carmarthen. She studied her PhD at UWales Lampeter. She is also a talented artist. She would be a great asset for Ysgol y Bedol as a governor.

EJR/AptGov(F3)

Y Ddwylan	1 current and	Cllr. Hazel Evans	n/a – elected member	Cllr. Hazel Evans is seeking re-appointment as LA
-	1 from 24 th	Glynderw		Governor at Ysgol y Ddwylan from 24 th October.
	Oct	Heol Ebenezer		
		Newcastle Emlyn		
		SA38 9BS		

	T		T	
SECONDARY	NO. OF	NOMINATIONS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS
SCHOOL	VACANCIES			
		NAME AND ADDRESS		
Coedcae	2	Mr N Furneaux	Mrs T Senchal, Headteacher	'Mr Furneaux has demonstrated long-standing commitment to the rights of all the young people in our school community to the best education possible. As an experienced member of the finance and staffing sub-committee, Mr Furneaux has played a key role in reducing the budget deficit successfully.'
		Mrs J Sharp		'Mrs Sharpe has long-standing experience as a governor in our school, and provides our school with the benefit of a valuable and robust knowledge of the wider community. Having been safeguarding/pupil support governor for some years, Mrs Sharpe has a wide range of skills and experience, without which we would be somewhat impoverished.' Mrs Senchal is seeking the re-appointment of Mr
				Furneaux and Mrs Sharpe.
Dyffryn Aman	(from 5 th Sept 20)	Cllr David Jenkins 12 High Street Glanamman Carmarthenshire SA18 1DX	n/a – elected member	Cllr. David Jenkins is seeking re-appointment as LA Governor at Ysgol Dyffryn Aman.
Dyffryn Taf	1	Cllr Sue Allen Penycoed Farm Whitland Carmarthenshire SA34 0LR	n/a – elected member	Cllr. Sue Allen is seeking re-appointment as LA Governor at Ysgol Dyffryn Taf.

EJR/AptGov(F3)

SPECIAL	NO. OF	NOMINATIONS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS
SCHOOL	VACANCIES			
		NAME AND ADDRESS		
none				

EJR/AptGov(F3) 5