APPOINTMENT OF LA GOVERNORS

List for Consideration

25th January 2018

PRIMARY SCHOOL	NO. OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS	
		NAME AND ADDRESS			
Please note: CCC's 'The Appointment of LA Governors' states that, 'All County Councillors [when elected] may stipulate on which school governing bodies they will sit and their decision will take preference over 'non-elected' LA governors'.					
Ammanford Nursery	2	Mr C Jones	Mrs Nia Wyn Phillips, Headteacher	'Mr Jones has been on the governors since the start and is beneficial in challenging the school in terms of the budget and also links with local companies.'	
				Mrs Phillips is seeking Mr Jones' re-appointment.	
		Ms F Wilkins	Mr Christopher Huw Jones, Chairperson	'Ms Wilkins will bring a good connection with the local town council and will help the school connect with the local community.'	
Beca	1	Mr D Esteve	Dr Ffion John, Chairperson	'Mr Esteve is a well-respected and valued member of the Governing Body. His understanding of education and educating, as well as the wider contextual system is invaluable. His expertise and drive to improve standards is invaluable. The Governing Body would be delighted if Mr Esteve could remain as a school governor with Ysgol Beca – this will be an asset for the Governing Body and the school.'	
		Cllr. Dorian Phillips Dolau Gronw Llanboidy Hendygwyn Ar Daf SA34 0EE	n/a – elected member	Cllr. D Phillips is seeking appointment as LA Governor.	

Cefneithin	1	Mrs J Price	Mrs Beverley Owen, Headteacher	'Willingness to share individual skills and expertise within the context of the governing body. Commitment to education as she works in Higher Education sector. Lives in the community, therefore has a vast knowledge of community life.'
Ffairfach	1	Mrs D Greenish	Mr Gethin Richards, Headteacher	'Mrs Greenish would fill a current vacancy on the GB. She is a very supportive friend of the school. Having been a governor in the past, she is aware of her role as a critical friend and has demonstrated her ability to fulfil the role.'
Griffith Jones	1	Mr K Jenkins	Mr Emyr Davies, Headteacher	'Has represented the school well as a Local Authority Governor over the past 4 years.' Mr Davies is seeking Mr Jenkins' re-appointment.
Halfway	1	Mrs T Devichand	Mr Huw Griffiths, Chairperson	'Mrs Devichand has served as a Governor at Halfway for many years, her experience and knowledge have contributed to the efficient organisation and performance of the Governing Body. In addition, her active contribution to school life has been greatly appreciated by staff and governors. I sincerely hope that her application to continue for a further term is accepted by the Authority.' Mr Griffiths is seeking Mrs Devichand's re-appointment.
Llandybie	1	Mr A W Jones	Mr Lee James, Headteacher	'Mr A W Jones is a community councillor who has been on the Governing Body for many years. He offers constant support to the school, yet challenges and questions the SMT when needed. The school would benefit greatly from his guidance and expertise.' Mr James is seeking Mr A W Jones' re-appointment.

2

EJR/AptGov(F3)

Parc y Tywyn	1	Cllr. Amanda Fox "Brooklands" 60 Dolau Fan Burry Port Carms SA16 0RE	n/a – elected member	Cllr. A Fox is seeking appointment as LA Governor.
		Mrs L Mitchell	Mrs Donna Jenkins, Headteacher	'Has a good knowledge of, and interest in, the community in which the school is situated. She is a hardworking local councillor with a specific interest in this school.'
Pen Rhos	1	Cllr. J E Jones	Mr Andrew Rothe, Chairperson	'As well as being a Councillor, Mr Jones has experience of being a school governor for four schools and his application has been supported by the existing governors.'
Saron	1	Cllr. Carl J Harris, 103 Stryd y Coleg Ammanford SA18 2BT	n/a – elected member	Cllr. CJ Harris is seeking appointment as LA Governor.
Teilo Sant	3	Mrs F Powell	Mr Hywel Davies, Chairperson	'To continue as governor.' Mrs Powell has been a governor at Teilo Sant since April 2013. Mr Davies is seeking Mrs Powell's re-appointment.
SECONDARY SCHOOL	NO. OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS NAME AND ADDRESS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS
Maes y Gwendraeth	3	Mrs S James & Mrs E Rees	Mr Wyn Evans, Headteacher	 commitment to education; a desire to help improve standards of education within the school;

EJR/AptGov(F3)

				 a knowledge of, and interest in, the community in which the school is situated; willingness to share individual skills and expertise within the context of the governing body; a commitment to update skills and knowledge on school governance.
SPECIAL SCHOOL	NO. OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS NAME AND ADDRESS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS
Heol Goffa	1	Mr P Newell	Mrs N. K. Symmons, Headteacher	'Continuation of existing appointment as Local Authority Governor, which is due to expire on 29th January 2018. All points in the Criteria for Appointment section of The Appointment of LA Governors document have been met.' Mrs Symmons is seeking Mr Newell's re-appointment.

EJR/AptGov(F3) 4