APPOINTMENT OF LA GOVERNORS

List for Consideration

26th Sept 2017

PRIMARY SCHOOL	NO. OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS NAME AND ADDRESS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS
				Councillors [when elected] may stipulate on which 'non-elected' LA governors'.
Burry Port	1	Mrs S. Reynolds	Ms Alison Williams, Headteacher	'Mrs Reynolds has recently retired as teacher after over 30 years of service. Therefore, she has a wealth of experience and skills to enable her to perform the statutory duties of a governor very well.'
Bynea	1	Cllr. Deryk Cundy, 8 Aber Llwchwr, Llangennech, Llanelli SA14 8AH	n/a – elected member	Cllr. Deryk Cundy is seeking appointment as LA Governor.
Johnstown	1	Mr S. Murphy	Mr Kevin McComas, Headteacher	'Mr Murphy has significant experience as an LA Governor, being Vice-Chair of governors for several years. He provides effective challenge and support for the Governing Body, including the Headteacher. He regularly attends governor meetings and visits to the school via learning walks, work scrutiny, interviewing staff and always makes a valued contribution. He attends the necessary LA training courses. Mr Murphy is employed as a Local Authority solicitor and is able to transfer these skills to his role as a school governor.'
				Mr McComas is seeking the re-appointment of Mr Murphy.

PRIMARY SCHOOL	NO. OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS NAME AND ADDRESS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS
Llanedi	1	Rev. V. Jones	Mrs Eirwen Thomas, Chairperson	'I am pleased to nominate Rev. V Jones, the vicar of the pastorate that includes St Edith Church, Llanedi. She is familiar with the education system and the primary education requirements. Every fortnight she supports sessions in the school and reads with individuals. Rev Jones further strengthens the close relationship between the church and the school. She will be an asset to the Governing Body and it is a pleasure to recommend her.'
Llangennech	1 (appointment from 13th Nov 2017)	Mr T. Davies	Mr Gary Anderson, Headteacher	Mr Davies has previously served on the GB for Llangennech Junior School and the Llangennech Schools Federation. He is currently the Chair of the Temporary Governing Body for Ysgol Gymraeg Llangennech.
		Mr G. Lewis	Cllr. Gary Robert Jones	'Mr Lewis has been a school governor for many years, he has helped in the transformation of the school to its current state and he has also been a County Councillor and a Community Councillor for Llangennech.'
Myrddin	1	Cllr. Emlyn Schiavone 11 Brynteg, Pentremeurig, Caerfyrddin SA31 3ES	n/a – elected member	Change of status from Community Governor to LA Governor requested.

EJR/AptGov(F3)

PRIMARY SCHOOL	NO. OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS NAME AND ADDRESS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS
Pontiets	1	Mrs D. Bowen	Mrs Eira Rumble, Headteacher	'Mrs Bowen has been a good friend to the school, offering support on safeguarding (as a retired nurse); also supporting the school on community links in the village. In the past she has challenged the school on issues that have been raised.' Mrs Rumble is seeking Mrs Bowen's re-appointment.
Richmond Park	1	Cllr. Emlyn Schiavone 11 Brynteg, Pentremeurig, Caerfyrddin SA31 3ES	n/a – elected member	Change of status from Additional Community Governor to LA Governor requested.
Stebonheath	1	Mr N. Bevan	Mr J. Littler, Headteacher	'Mr. Bevan has served as LA Governor for several years and has been Chair for the majority of his time on the Governing Body. He is passionate about Stebonheath School and is fully committed to attending meetings and events at the school on a regular basis. He possesses a wealth of knowledge and expertise of modern educational issues, and uses this information to enhance the school in the drive to improve standards. As Ex-Mayor of Llanelli, Mr. Bevan maintains a respectable and upstanding position in the local community and expresses a keen interest in the school and surrounding area. He also has a genuine desire to improve standards of education within the school in partnership with the Head Teacher and other members of the Governing Body.' Mr Littler is seeking Mr Bevan's re-appointment.

EJR/AptGov(F3)

SECONDARY SCHOOL	NO. OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS NAME AND ADDRESS	NOMINATED BY	DETAILS
Emlyn	1	Mr H. Davies	Mrs Elaine Sharpling, Chairperson	Commitment to education – as a previous member of the senior leadership team of Ysgol Gyfun Emlyn, Mr. Davies has shown a long-standing commitment to comprehensive systems of education. He has widened this view with experience of international charity work. A desire to help improve standards of education within the school – Mr Davies has considerable experience in secondary education which can be used to inform developments related to standards. A knowledge of, and interest in, the community in which the school is situated – Mr Davies resides in the local community and is well-respected. He understands the nature of rural schools and the challenges presented by the local socio-economic structures. A willingness to share individual skills and expertise within the context of the governing body – during his time as a serving teacher, Mr Davies was approachable and highly valued by the school community. These skills and level of expertise will transfer to the work of the governing body. A commitment to update skills and knowledge on school governance – as a member of the teaching profession, Mr Davies is well-versed in the need to remain up-to-date and will be able to relate this to school governance.

EJR/AptGov(F3) 4